Top Albums of 2009 – #20

MastodonCrack The Skye

Mastodon - Crack The Skye

Mastodon - Crack The Skye


Mastodon’s latest comes at a time when they seem to be riding a wave of popularity. I have found that their albums, while great, have always been really hard for me to get into. In fact, after hearing Leviathan the first time, I simply was not a fan. Then I had a chance to see them live in Houston in 2005 and they blew me away.

Crack The Skye, like the albums before it, has been a real grower. I have given it a fair share of listens too, but I’m afraid it just won’t move much higher than the 20th spot on my favourite albums list. I probably would like it more than I do if it weren’t for the big shift in vocal style. Mastodon has ditched the gritty, dirty vocals that made their past albums great aiming I think to reach the masses with a cleaner “radio-friendlier” voice.

“The Czar” is the standout track here, relentless in its heavy, epic pounding glory.
Grimby’s Rating: 7/10

Top 20 of 2009:
20 – Mastodon- Crack The Skye

Leave a Reply

